Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question - Roll back scenario for SC IDE

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Question - Roll back scenario for SC IDE

    Hi everyone,
    I was just thinking that it would be great to have an easy 'roll back version' command in the SC IDE, so that when you upgrade SC versions and encounter a bad situation (bug introduced into a mission critical app/macro...) you could roll back your SC to the earlier version.

    Then I thought, isn't that the same thing as doing a -Sciptcase Settings - Services - Backup? If you do that, and then do a restore, does it take you back to whatever earlier SC version happened to be when the backup was created?

    For that to be true, a restore would need to erase all SC files and settings and truly restore everything right? I just don't know if that actually happens.

    If this is true, it seems almost that the default version upgrade should automatically create a backup, acting as a roll back or restore point?

  • #2
    The simplest way is to stop the server and make a backup of your scriptcase dir (clearing out the temp dir is allowed).
    Then start the server and do your update.
    This is our regular procedure and it works like a charm.

    Comment


    • #3
      Thanks - I am going to do it that way too

      Comment

      Working...
      X