Grid - jump to special date - predefined search

Hi

i’m still new to SC and hopefully there is a simple solution for my problem

I have a grid that shows all of the events - some are in the future (until dez 2015) and a lot are in the past - the grid shows 20 events - and is sorted by start_date - you can see it here http://development.mitsm.de/EduMS/mITSM_Education_Management_System/

It is more likly that the user will have to work on an event that is in the next future - let’s say the next two month - so when the grid is opend i would like to jump to an event thatn has the startrdate “today” an the schould be last event in the grid - so the users sees the “next” 20 events -

to make it even more complicated , unfortunately not every day an event is started -

Can I do someting like a predefined search? that is executed the firs time the grid is opend like with the criteria start_date > “today”. -

some more questions

1. would that be first in grid not last? that would be ok - i could do “start_date > “today” - 10 days” or so
  2. can I assign the search to a button that is display at the top of the grid so even if user changed it he can jump again to today pressing the button
  3. would the solutions also work for forms?

Thanks a lot !!!
rob

that’s not complicated at all man… simply modify the query in your SQL section for the grid for somehting like

SELECT * //or the field list of your choice
FROM    events 
WHERE  EventDate BETWEEN CURDATE() and CURDATE()+10

if this is helpful donate a coin to someone in need =D

thanks for the fast answere - let’s call it SQL solution - here an optimized version

SELECT *
FROM event
WHERE start_date BETWEEN (DATE_SUB(CURDATE(), INTERVAL 1 MONTH)) and (DATE_add(CURDATE(), INTERVAL 2 MONTH))   
ORDER BY start_date

but that is not exactly what I want, because then I would have to maintain 2 grids, right? grid_event_all and grid_event_intervall