How to create MSSQL Server Encrypted Connections?

Hi,

There doesn’t seem to be a way to create encrypted MS SQL Server connections natively within scriptcase as you can with say MySQL. The option in scriptcase simply doesn’t exist like it does for MySQL. Is it possible to do this without creating an ODBC connection? PDO allows you to create connection info which enables encryption so theoretically it’s possible…

Our business is strict on secure development so we have to make everything is secure and encrypted where possible.

I can achieve encryption if I use the SQL Server ODBC driver by enabling “use strong encryption for data” but it’s adding an extra level of complexity and then another level for docker containers, CI pipelines and so on… it’d be better if it could be handled centrally within scriptcase.

Any tips would be appreciated.

thanks,
Arthur

I’m not an expert but as far as I know are the database and connections between the database driver and the database encrypted by default. It is possible to encrypt individual fields as well, but to access those, you need to work from within Visual Studio (.Net) as you can’t get it to work simply in other connections like those in PHP or Java. That is different with encryption on MySQL/mariaDB. That implementation is fully transparent. You set up the certificates and then the database is encrypted. You don’t have to specify that in your code or connection.

Thanks so much for your response. I’m really pleased to see how active and responsive this forum is.

I’ve tested if connections are encrypted and they arent. You can test this easily using

SELECT session_id,encrypt_option FROM sys.dm_exec_connections

When I use an ODBC connection that I’ve set as encrypted, I get true, but the default scriptcase SQL Server connections I get false every time.