How to upload big files to a folder in Scriptcase - Any type of file - say 50MB

Hi,

I have successfully created applications that can upload filename, filesize, binary data file to a MySQL database. The bin file upload was of BLOB or LONGBLOB type.

The problem I have is that this method only allow filesizes of about 1Mb.

I need to upload in some cases files of about 50Mb to my applications.

I am not sure if there are settings on my side that is wrong, e.g. php.ini file ect. I will appreciate if someone can highlight all the check areas.

I do however think it will solve the problem if I can upload directly to a specifically allocated folder.

I will appreciated it if someone can point me in the correct directions with a step by step guideline on how to upload a big file to a folder and how to access it again in a view application.

I have raised the issue with ticket support, but the response is only refering back to the BLOB/LONGBLOB route.

Note: I am not a savvy programmer, I am working in the construction/mining industry.

Your problem most likely is on the MySQL side, which by default does not allow you to store larger files than 1mb. In the MySQL file (my.ini on windows afaik) you need to set

max_allowed_packet=50M or larger if you need that. You need to restart MySQL to make this change effective.

If you are not able to change that (your provider might need to help you) then you should consider storing these files not as a blob, but as a file.

Hi Albert,

Thanks for the response above.

The max_allowed_packet=50M worked temporarily.

I think the better way forward will be to safe the files in a specified folder under the root directory - not to have any data size limit errors.

Do you maybe have a tutorial on how to create the file upload input form to save the file to a folder, rather than in a LONGBLOB field in a table - in the Scriptcase environment?