I have an unusual group by and need help

Hi All,

I am relatively new to MySQL and I have come across a situation that I am not sure how to deal with it. The project is for a bookkeeping system.

I have a table called ledger_codes, and it has a PK of an integer that is auto incremented. I also have a column that records the actual ledger code, but is not auto incremented as the user sets the value.

I also have a table of transactions. One of the columns records the link to a ledger code. It is linked to the PK field in the ledger code table.

When I do a “group by” of these transactions, I need to group the records by the ledger code field, and not the PK field as is recorded in the transactions database.

I am not sure how to do this.

I can do it by the linking code easily enough, but not sure how to do it by another field. Do I do some join in the SQL statement? I am not sure how SC handles joins etc.

Thanks

Tony

I have experimented with an inner join and it works in the MySQL engine. Below is the SQL SELECT statement in the grid SQL setting. As I said, it returns the correct data and the correct sorting.

SELECT
ta_id,
ta_tran,
ta_date,
ta_ref,
ta_glcode,
ta_amount,
ta_gst,
ta_net,
ta_drcr,
ta_bastype,
ta_note,
ta_type,
gl_code
FROM
allocations
INNER JOIN
ledger_codes ON allocations.ta_glcode = ledger_codes.gl_id
WHERE
ta_date BETWEEN ‘2014-07-01’ AND ‘2015-06-30’
ORDER BY
gl_code, ta_date

However, it does not work in SC. I get an error on compile that states that the “Search fields undefined”

Any idea what I am doing wrong?

Thanks

Tony

SOLVED - I have an unusual group by and need help

I have managed to solve this by using an inner join, but BEWARE changing your SQL statement with a join can turn the whole application into a dogs breakfast.

The search fields undefined error turned to grid fields undefined error, and then the edit fields setting truncated the table name on the id field and would not save the fields to be displayed.