New Purchaser, still learning

I am using Scriptcase to retrofit a project which manages inventory for a commercial plant nursery. I have built our the ordering forms which verify inventory and assign products to the customers. Now I am building the delivery system which will look at the products on order, and allow the user to schedule the delivery of those products. I also want to inherit the customer delivery fields form the customer table which is linked though a foreign key.

In the past, I have used a MySQL view to identify those products which the customer has “on order” and I have used an Ajax process to queue up the delivery data when the customer selects the customer id from a dropdown list. Would the correct process be to use PHP methods to populate the results in each of the delivery fields on my new form and use an onChange ajax procedure to trigger the update?

Welcome aboard Edward!
I’ve been using Scriptcase for enterprise development for several years and I can tell you the most difficult part of any solution is determining the “best” way to do something. In truth absolutely anything is possible with Scriptcase, but depending on your particular needs (Or the clients), there are sometimes “better” methods to doing something.

I am not 100% sure that I understand what you are trying to accomplish based on your post… when you mention what you have done in the past are you referring to methods you have used within Scriptcase or some other framework/system ?

Thanks for the reply. Your words ring so very true, I have only scratched the surface of what Scriptcase can do. I made the purchase based on the RAD capabilities. The grids and forms are so easily built and very solid in overall performance. I also agree the “best” way has had me wrapped around the axle a bit.