Reload master/detail grid after insert/update from a modal form

I have a form with a master detail. In the master detail is a grid. On the form is a button that links to another modal form to add or edit information shown in the master detail grid.

How can I make the master detail grid reload after I add or edit something in the modal form and close it.

sc_exit() isn’t what I need and reloading iframes with javascript doesn’t work.

This seems like logical functionality and I don’t understand why something this simple has to be so roundabout difficult.

Use sc_redir to the same form. It might be necessary to requery the correct master though.

1 Like

Can you help me how to sc_redir() to the parent form please?
I have a “calling” grid that opens another grid (modal) through a Link Button. The modal form performs some actions on the data dsipalyed by the calling grid.
I currently use “sc_exit();” to close the modal form and get back to the calling grid.
But the calling grid is not reloaded and therefore teh new rows are not visible.
Thx a lot for your assistance.

sc_redir(page_name,paremetername=whatever);

Hi nwdbs.
Thx for your answer.
My App is designed like this:

• A menu with a few buttons
  • 1 button opens a grid on my clients
  • on each row I can open the client details in a tab within the Menu application
  • this client details App is a Form (master) with many details displayed as tabs within the form (blocks are set to be displayed as tabs)
  • 1 detail is a grid with the family members of the client
  • from this grid, I can open a modal app that performs actions through SQL. If I use “sc_redir()” from this modal form to get back to the family members grid, I get the following results:
    a. sc_redir(myApp, myParams) or sc_redir(myApp, myParams, “_self”) ==> the current modal form is replaced with the family grid. Does not get back to the actual “caller” (the modal form does not close)