Safe to unblock Port 97 on Virtual Server?

Hey there,

I’ve just installed Scriptcase on a Virtual Server so that I can get access from any of my computers. In doing so I had to unblock port 97 in order to allow that inbound connection in Windows firewall on that server. My questions is, am I opening a can of worms with the security of that server by doing this? It’s a Windows Server 2008 install. I have the connection up and running. I just want to make sure it’s safe.

Thanks for any info you can give to me on this. I’m a newbie when it comes to opening ports.

Mike

No problem. You only need to set a new admin password of course. And if needed add extra users with their passwords.
If you insist in making it more secure you could make a rule in your firewall that only allows a certain range or set of ip umbers.
Alternatively, it is just the apache service that runs so you can also change the port number in httpd.conf (change the line: Listen 97 ) and simply restart the service.

Has anyone tried using SC like that but over SSL? I want to access SC dev environment over the internet - proper external access. Is implementing SSL do-able?

yes it is, since it is just apache with scriptcase php code you should be able to do anything you want with this apache with a few limitations. You wouldnt want to destroy your dev environment.
So my advice is to backup everything in the scriptcase dir completely first before experimenting.

Thanks rr

SSL implementation is new to me - will do as you say - backup and experiment. Any good free SSL offerings you know of?

It depends on what server you are on. So on apache you have to stick with openssl, with iis you have to use the IIS build in ssl security. You have to enable modssl for it in your apache if it isnt already enabled.
Yet if you want to for for it commercially you need to buy a certificate from an ssl provider.