Update Hidden Field Before Saving

So I have a Single Record Edit/Save Form

And I’m trying to update a hidden field before it inserts into the database

I have a set of fields that, for each License #, has a Line Items #s field. These fields are created in the script case application as they’re not database tables. In the database, I have 2 fields one for license # and one for line#. So the issue I’m having is I’m trying to take the values from each Lic# and Line# and update the hidden field so when it saves in the database it will concat all lic# to one field and then concat all line# to the single field.

Form Example
Lic 1: _______________ Line 1:__________________
Lic 2: _______________ Line 2:__________________
Lic 3: _______________ Line 3:__________________

I’ve tried to put the change in onBeforeInsert, but my application just throws a 500.

I’m new to SciptCase as well. So greatly appreciation any insight or help.

I think you need to do that OnAfterInsert.
Put your code here so we can see it… the 500 error is a weird one to get…

Very simply nothing crazy just yet just trying
{IT_LIC_NUMBERS} = {IT_LIC_NUMBER1} + “,” + {IT_LIC_NUMBER2};
{IT_LINE_NUMBERS} = {IT_LIC_LINE1} + “,” + {IT_LICE_LINE2};

So if you have FIELD1 and FIELD2 and you want “FIELD1,FIELD2” as your final you don’t use a +. It would be {NEWFIELD}={FIELD1}.",".{FIELD2}

There are other ways to do it depending what you want. You want this BEFORE inserting in database? It would have to be in a beforeinsert event. Or you could go in afterinsert and do an update on the database to set it.

3 Likes

@mollyshark Thanks that worked everything is working as expected now.

2 Likes